How Can We Help?
Publish, Unpublish, Move, or Delete ItemsPublish, Unpublish, Move, or Delete Items
You can move, delete, or publish/unpublish exhibit items in bulk or on an individual basis. For instance, you can move multiple items from one exhibit to a different exhibit or into a section; or you may want to unpublish an outdated item in an exhibit.
Bulk Manage Content in an Exhibit or Section
- Select Pages in the administrator sidebar, then the title of the exhibit.
- Checkboxes will appear to the left of the items and sections in the exhibit. (Items are marked with “Exhibit item page” in the Type column and sections are marked with “Exhibit section page.”) Select the checkboxes next to the items or sections that you'd like to move, delete, publish, or unpublish.
- Select the desired action from the menu at the bottom of the page. The menu appears after at least one row is selected.
- Confirm the action on the following screen.
If you want to manage items within a section, first select the arrow to the right of the section to reach that section's items, then select the checkboxes as described above.
Manage an Individual Item or Section
Navigate to an item or section in the exhibit contents list as above and hover over the row's three-dot More options menu.

To publish an item:
- Select Edit from the item's menu.
- Then, on the item edit page, expand the Save draft menu at the bottom and select Publish.
To unpublish an item:
- Select Unpublish. This option will show up in the menu for currently published items.
- Confirm the action on the subsequent screen.
Move an item:
- Select Move from the item's menu.
- On the next page, expand the three-dot menu and select Choose another page.
- Select the title of the exhibit to which you’d like to move the item. (If moving to a section, first select the arrow to the right of the containing exhibit and then select the title of the section.)
- Select the Confirm button, then Yes, Move This Page.
Copy an item so it appears in multiple locations:
- Select Copy from the item's menu. (If copying an item from within a section, first select the arrow to the right of the section, then select Copy from the item's menu.)
- On the next page, enter a New title and New slug for the duplicate item. If you're copying to a different exhibit or section, you can generally keep the existing slug. If you're copying the item to the same exhibit/section it's currently in, give it a new slug so it gets a unique URL.
- By default, the New parent page field shows the original item's current location. To copy to a different exhibit or section instead, select the three-dot menu next to the parent page and select Choose another page.
- If you're copying a published item, select Publish copied page to publish the copy as well; leave it unchecked to create the copy as a draft. This option doesn't appear when copying a draft item; the copy is created as a draft automatically.
- To keep the copy updated with future changes to the original, select Alias.
- Select Copy this page.

Copy a section:
You may also copy a section in a similar manner. To copy a section, select its three-dot menu on its parent exhibit page. A page with options like the above will display, including a few extra options specific to exhibits/sections; you can generally leave them as is:
-
Copy subpages will be checked automatically and indicates that items contained within the exhibit/section should be included; leave this checked to bring over all items.
- Publish copies will publish any of those pages that are currently published in the original location; you can leave this unchecked to create drafts or you can check this if you’d like to publish those items right away.
To copy a whole exhibit, select its three-dot menu on the exhibit site's main contents page and follow the prompts and tips for sections above.
Digital Commons Help Center